The Winnacott Kats Junior Football Club was formed in 2004.

Its inaugural year playing in the East Fremantle Junior District Competition was 2005.

The Club was fundamentally formed when the West Australian Football Commission made the decision to rezone Kardinya Junior Football Club (Kardinya JFC)  in to the South Fremantle District.

This decision was met with a lot of frustration by the majority of the members of the Kardinya JFC. Moving in to the South Fremantle District meant travelling further distances on game day, an aspect that did not sit well with members and their families.

As a consequence, some families decided to transfer to other Clubs within the East Fremantle District. Others however, decided to take matters in to their own hands.

Preferring to keep as many teams, players, members and their families together as much as possible, a separate group of parents considered the prospect of remaining in the East Fremantle District – what would that look like and what was needed to make this happen?

The group sourced Winnacott Oval as being the venue most suitable to accommodate 520 players, across 22 teams.

Approval was given by the three sporting codes that had tenure at Winnacott Oval at the time, along with approval from the East Fremantle Junior District Council.

The Club held its first Registration Day in February 2005, with approx 520 members registering to play for season 2005.

Since inception, the Club has been very successful both on and off the field. On field success has seen the club win many premierships across many age groups. Off field the club successfully applied for and received a Department of Sport and Recreation grant and fund raised to install two additional light towers in 2014.

Over the years, many people have worked tirelessly to achieve the success’s that the Club has enoyed. These people include Coaches, Parents, Assistants, Committee Persons, all voluntarily giving their time and efforts to the Club.

Winnacott Kats Founding Members.

Peter Gill      Steve Hucker     Angelo Pontillo     Kim Gray      Rob Martinovich     John Wigham      Percy Johnson      Ingrid Grgurich      Steve Dennis      Martin Hurst      Steve Platt      Mike Pitcher