In 2012 the Winnacott Kats executive struck a medallion to honour and commemorate the Winnacott Kats first AFL player, Kane Lucas.

Kane Lucas represented Western Australia in their victorious 2009 AFL National Under 18 Championship.

Lucas was originally drafted to Carlton, where he played 42 games between 2010 and 2014. Lucas made his AFL debut in Round 3, 2010 against Essendon.  In 2015 Lucas was drafted to the West Coast Eagles.

The Kane Lucas Medal is awarded to the player who is voted to be the ‘best on ground’ in a Kats grand final game, win, lose or draw. A selection panel of up to 10 people are asked to vote at the Grand Final game. The selection panel can include representatives of East Fremantle JCC, Metro South representatives, Kats coaching staff and team officials, Kats Committee members and Kats Life Members.

Votes are tallied at the end of the game and the winner of the Kane Lucas Medal is announced back at the Winnacott club rooms.

Congratulations to our Winners


Chadd Dunscombe Y10

Rhys Doig Y11/12


Chadd Dunscombe Y9

Kai Katnich Y12


Chadd Dunscombe Y8

Kai Katnich Y11


Jack Johnston Y7

Damon Roberts Y9

Tom Wright Y12


Jonas Brown Y8

Taj Ryan Y10

James Kelly Y11


Cam Jones Y10


Ambrose Ryan Y10


Thomas Wright Y8

Kyle Baskerville Y9


Matthew Pallotta Y10